Image of Risk, Risk Management and Insurance: Why Agents Are NOT Risk Managers
Live Webcast

Risk, Risk Management and Insurance: Why Agents Are NOT Risk Managers





Description

“Risk” is not our enemy. In fact, risk is necessary for a society to survive and prosper. To prepare for the risks inherent in everything we do, we must understand the concept of risk, learn how to measure risk and be prepared to manage it.

“Risk management” and “Insurance” are not synonymous. Risk management is a process combining methods for reducing or avoiding an undesirable event. Insurance is only one tool used in risk management that combines the concepts of risk transfer and risk sharing.

 

Students attending this class learn:

  • How to define risk;
  • What is “at risk;”
  • The seven-step risk management process;
  • How to measure risk
  • Where insurance fits into the risk management process
  • The elements of an insurable risk; and
  • Key theories applicable insurance. 

Course Materials

Faculty

Christopher J. Boggs's Profile

Christopher J. Boggs Related seminars and products: 8

CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS


Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS, joined the insurance industry in 1990. He is the Executive Director of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big "I") Virtual University. His current duties involve researching, writing, and teaching property and casualty insurance coverages and concepts to Big "I" members and others in the insurance industry.

 

During his career, Boggs has authored more than 300 insurance and risk management-related articles on a wide range of topics as diverse as Credit Default Swaps, the MCS-90, and enterprise risk management. In addition to this, Boggs has written 13 insurance and risk management books:

  • "The Insurance Professional's Practical Guide to Workers' Compensation: From History through Audit," now in its second edition;
  • "Business Income Insurance Demystified: The Simplified Guide to Time Element Coverages," now in its third edition;
  • "Property and Casualty Insurance Concepts Simplified: The Ultimate 'How to' Insurance Guide for Agents, Brokers, Underwriters and Adjusters;"
  • "Wow! I Never Knew That! 12 of the Most Misunderstood and Misused P&C Coverages, Concepts and Exclusions;"
  • "Insurance, Risk & Risk Management! The Insurance Professional's Guide to Risk Management and Insurance;"
  • "Workers' Compensation: How You Can Effectively Answer Your Clients 12 Most Commonly Asked Questions;"
  • "Glossary of Insurance Terms;"
  • "Choosing the Best Risk Financing Option;"
  • "Writing Property and Liability Coverage for Condos;"
  • "The Truth about Enterprise Risk Management;"
  • "The Experience Mod Worksheet;"
  • "What has ISO Done to us Now?" and
  • "Cancellations, Non-Renewals & Conditional Renewals: THE Insurance Professional's Guide to Statutory Insurance Carrier Notification Requirements for All 50 States!"

 

Boggs is a regular speaker at industry events, speaking for groups such as the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC), the National Society of Insurance Premium Auditors (NSIPA), the American Association of Managing General Agents (AAMGA), the Institute of Work Comp Professionals (IWCP), and the CPCU Society.

A graduate of Liberty University with a bachelor's degree in Journalism, Boggs' background includes work as a risk management consultant, loss control representative, producer, claims manager, and quality assurance specialist


Dates

Thu, Dec 12, 2019 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Dec 19, 2019 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Wed, Jan 08, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Jan 09, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Jan 16, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Wed, Feb 12, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Feb 13, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Feb 20, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Wed, Mar 11, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Mar 12, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Mar 19, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Apr 08, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Apr 09, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Apr 16, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, May 13, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, May 14, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, May 21, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Jun 10, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Jun 11, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Jun 18, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Jul 08, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Jul 09, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Jul 16, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Aug 12, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Aug 13, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Aug 20, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Sep 09, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Sep 10, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Sep 17, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Oct 08, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Oct 14, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Thu, Oct 15, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CDT
Wed, Nov 11, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Nov 12, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Nov 19, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Wed, Dec 09, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Dec 10, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST
Thu, Dec 17, 2020 - 12:00p to 02:51p CST

State Specific Details

State Approval Information Details

KS - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 6000013837

Note -  KAIA will file your earned CE electronically within 10 business day after course completions

MI - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#78953

TN - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#30271

NY -This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# NYCR-258930

​GA - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#54160

LA - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#30296

NE - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE (Ethics) - Course#38369

UT - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 35848

NJ - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#88900362

MT - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#6000031956

ME - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#25732

WV - This course is approved for 3 hrs oc CE - Course # 106477

 

 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 174

Please wait ...

Back to Top